The Goddess Parvati one of the Trinity of the Hindu Goddess

Parbati Statues

In Hinduism, Parvati is one of the most worshipped Goddess since she blessed all beings and destroys all evil.

Parvati is one of the Trinity of the Hindu Goddess and is believed to be the goddess of love, fertility, and devotion. The other Hindu Goddesses in the trinity are Lakshmi (goddess of prosperity and wealth) and Goddess Saraswati (goddess of knowledge and learning). Goddess Parvati is the second wife of Lord Mahadev, one of the supreme Hindu deity of Trinity of Hindu god. Goddess Sati was the first wife of Shiva, but due various problems she threw herself in the fire. Goddess Parvati is the daughter of the Mountain King Parvat and queen Mena. She is the mother of two Hindu Gods, Ganesha and Kartikeya. Goddess Parvati have reincarnated to various other forms of goddesses, that's why she is also known as the Divine Mother.

She is one of the many forms of universal feminine energy which in Hinduism is called Shakti, the unknowable and enlivening feminine force of the universe. Since she is the wife of Lord Shiva, she is the central goddess in Saivism. Her each reincarnation and aspects are expressed with different names, that's why she has 108 different names and each of her names has its own meaning and significance. In Hinduism, people believe that she is the main reason that connects every being and a medium for their spiritual release. It is also believed that Parvati is the core power of Lord Shiva and it is also said that she completes the power for Lord Shiva.

Goddess Parvati has undertaken many forms in order to destroy evil as well as to bless her worshippers and all beings. There are about 10 aspects or forms of Goddess Parvati which is also called Dasamahavidyas to represent her power and knowledge.

  • Goddess Kali

Kali was the first representation of Goddess Parvati and is later known as the destroyer.

  • Tara

Another representation is Tara which is the source from which the universe was believed to evolve to represent the spiritual power of golden embryo.

  • Vidya Bhuvanevari

This form represents the force of the material world.

  • Sadasi

Third representation of Parvati is Sadasi, represents perfection and fullness.

  • Dhumavati

Seventh form of Parvati is Dhumavati who is believed to destroy the world by fire and only ashes will remain.

  • Bhairavi

Desires and temptation often lead to destruction and death and this is represented by fifth form of Goddess Parvati.

  • Vidya Chinnamasta

Sixth form of Parvati represented the created world in a circle of creation and destruction.

  • Vidya Kamala

Also known as Goddess Lakshmi and she represents the fortune.

  • Vidya bagala

This form represents the cruelty, jealousy and hatred and is known Vidya Bagala and is the eight form of Goddess Parvati.

  • Matangi

The power of domination is represented by ninth form of Goddess Parvati and is known as Matangi.

Parvati Statues

In Hinduism, Parvati is one of the most worshipped Goddess since she blessed all beings and destroys all evil. The statues of Goddess Parvati are found in most of the temples associated with Shiva. The Shiva Lingam also, Parvati is symbolically represented as argha or yoni.

There are various statues of Parvati that can be found in Hindu temple.

1. Uma Parvati Mother Goddess Statue

2. Two Armed Consort Parvati Statue

3. Four Armed Lalita Statue, with her sons Ganesha and Skanda

4. Uma Maheshvara, Parvati with Mahadev

5. Ardhanarishvara, Half Shiva Half Shakti or Parvati

These statues are made up of various materials like bronze, marble, stone, wood etc.

Share this page

arrow-right keyboard_arrow_right arrow-down keyboard_arrow_down arrow-left keyboard_arrow_left close menu search twitter facebook youtube-play linkedin envelope instagram google-plus pinterest whatsapp heart-o Wishlist share file-pdf-o printer trash